Is Consulting the Right Career Path for an EE Student After Graduation?

• Thread starter user101
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary, after graduating with an engineering degree and completing two internships, a student is considering various career paths including pursuing an MBA and working in the consulting industry. They are also considering other options such as working as an engineer for a few years, pursuing a law degree, or going into finance. The student is seeking advice and is open to various possibilities.
user101
Engineering --> Consulting

Hi, I'm an EE student thinking about my career after I graduate.

I have had one internship in the aviation industry and one internship that I will most likely accept with a major defense contractor, doing radar/sonar type work. Ultimately, after I graduate, what my *original* plan included was to work as an engineer for a few years, then obtain an MBA degree from a top tier school. I don't think I want to be an engineer my whole life, but rather experience new roles and responsibilities while helping run an organization. Obviously, not after I graduate with my bachelors, but in due time when I have gained enough experience and exposure in the industry.

After doing some research online of available jobs, I've considered another career path...

Should I go into the Consulting industry straight after I graduate? Consulting meaning management, global strategy, etc. I've been to many company websites where they hire "Associates" - no required degree specialization, just a bachelors degree. I figure with the strong analytical and problem-solving skills that I currently posses and will posses as I finish my academics and internship will be a positive factor for me.