Should I switch my perspective major away from Physics?

In summary, the author is describing how he lost interest in physics due to boredom. He suggests that if you find yourself struggling with introductory physics, it's okay to switch majors. The primary purpose of physics classes is to educate you, not entertain you, and you should try to do your own learning outside of class.
WrinkleDinkle
Was interested in Physics ever since 6th grade when my science teacher taught us a few physics concepts. So when I got to high school, took a college preparatory Physics class. Pretty cool stuff. Loved having my mind abused day in and day out. I couldn't wait to the day I graduated and became an adult and could dedicate my life to science.
Now I am in AP Physics 1, and it is the most tedious and boring thing I have ever done in my life. I hate every moment of it. So far it is only basic stuff like acceleration and what not, but it's just so boring. I hate to use "so boring" over and over, but that is the only way to describe it. I don't know if it's a different teacher that's bothering me or the fact I've already learned this stuff for the most part. I just don't know how I can do this every single day, when last year it felt like a part of my life was removed when I finished my normal physics class.

Physics news on Phys.org
If the boredom is because it's too easy, rest assured that the calculations will get more challenging as time goes on.

How much do you enjoy doing Math? What exactly do you want to do with a Physics degree? What is it about Physics that got you hooked in the first place?

I think it's safe to say that introductory physics is not a proper representation of how difficult it can get. You should probably be thankful that this stuff is that easy that it's boring... A lot of people struggle with the basics. More importantly, having to trudge through the required basics will probably make the more complex stuff worth the wait