Help on Majors and Graduate Degrees as an Engineering Student

In summary: On the plus side, most engineering programs have excellent opportunities for research and many have excellent graduate programs.
JurassicJack
I am a high school graduate planning to enter the Gator Engineering Program at Santa Fe. In the program I'll be transferred from Santa Fe to the University of Florida after 2 years. I am very excited for the program but I am restricted by only being able to major in a select few majors.

The majors are: Computer Science, Digital art Sciences, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering and Nuclear Engineering.

For the program I can switch between these majors but when I transfer to UF it is not a guarantee I will be able to switch out of the major outside of the listed above. I am relatively undecided on what I want to major but I plan to switch around and find what I like.

I do know that I really like physics though, and other areas of science. My family is not the most knowledgeable on college and I am one of the few who is planning to get a higher level degree such as a masters or PhD.

Most of this stuff is unknown to me about how switching majors and I don't know how easy the process would be of getting a bachelors degree in engineering and then a masters in a more physics based major or if that is a feasible plan at all.
So I suppose my main questions are if I do get one of these degrees how easy would it be to get a masters in a more physics based major such as Astrophysics and which one of these majors would give me the most flexibility in getting a masters in a different subject after I graduate. Even though I can switch like I said, I am a Nuclear Engineering major right now

Physics news on Phys.org
1. To be a research physicist, a masters isn't enough. You need a doctorate. If you are just interested in learning for its own sake, do you need a degree?