Maximum photon energy in the photoelectric effect

In summary, the conversation was about the question of why gamma rays do not exhibit true absorbance in metals, while ultraviolet rays do. The answer was that gamma rays have too much energy and are above the photoelectric energy band in metals, while ultraviolet rays are within the photoelectric band. However, the discussion then turned to the issue of whether there is a maximum energy for the photoelectric effect, with the conclusion being that there is no maximum due to relativistic effects. The conversation also touched on the use of relativistic kinetic energy in solving for velocity and energy.
greenmachine
Hi I'm a materials engineer and we have a subject about the optical and electrical properties of materials. In this subject I was asked a challenging question. I hope this is the right section for it.

We were asked why gamma rays do not exhibit true absorbance in metals whereas ultraviolet rays do. I answered that gamma rays had too much energy and were above the photoelectric energy band in metals whereas ultraviolet rays were within the photoelectric band. If I remember correctly this got me full marks but it did not seem right because surely the electrons would just be ejected faster and faster as the photon energy gets higher and higher. I continued to think about this problem until the other day I realized what if the electrons would need to be ejected faster then the speed of light. This is the calculation I came up with (sorry if it's a bit messy I'm not sure what all the right characters are);

1) E(kinetic) = 0.5*m(electron)*V(electron)^2
2) but there is a certain amount of energy from the photon associated with destabilising the original electron bond as opposed to new kinetic energy.
3) E(kinetic) = 0.5*m(electron)*V(electron)^2 + E(bond)
4) E(photon)=h(constant)F(photon)
5) max v ~ 3x10^8 m/s
6) m(electron) ~ 9.11*10^-31 kg
7) h(constant) = 6.626x10^-34 JS