What are your tips for staying alert throughout a long day

• Thread starter ianmgull
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tips
In summary: I'm very guilty of not taking any breaks, especially in the beginning of the semester when I'm trying to cram everything in. But I've found that if I take a break every 2 hours or so, I don't feel so foggy. In summary, caffeine is bad for you, tea's effect last throughout the day, and exercise is really important.
ianmgull
I'm a Physics undergrad and I find that although I have the motivation to study for long periods of time, my mental acuteness declines throughout the day. I tend to start the day at around 8am and work until around 8pm (with a few hours worth of breaks scattered throughout). If I'm not in class I try to focus on studying. However as the day goes on I notice that it's more difficult to focus and internalize what I'm reading; almost as if my perception becomes more cloudy.

I was hoping to get feedback on what others do to combat these things. Some of the more obvious:

-Get plenty of sleep
-Eat well/exercise
-Take breaks periodically

Any other tips? Most Internet resources turn up a bunch of pseudo-scientific BS so I'm hoping to get better advice.

d

Physics news on Phys.org
- Coffee
- Coffee
- More Coffee

:wink:

Good advice I got from one of my early mentors at work:

If you have 10 days work to do and 5 days to do it in, spend the first 4 days working out which 9.5 days work isn't worth doing. Then do the half-day of important work on the last morning, and take the last afternoon off.

That's a much better plan than hoping that if you work twice as hard or twice as long for all 5 days, you will get the job finished on time!

Coffee is garbage, tea's effect lasts throughout the day, it's not like a sudden burst, releases slowly.
I'm taking taking really cold showers, in the morning it feels like liquid nitrogen being poured on you, but it helps me stay alert.

lendav_rott said: