Designing a Solenoid: Equations and Force Calculations

In summary, the speaker is seeking information on how to design a solenoid that can operate a gas valve. They mention needing to use specific equations and calculate the required force for operation. They also mention two potential sources for this information, including a website with application notes and a design guide.
ElectroPhysics
I have to design a solenoid. It should be wound on some soft metal of certain permeability. It should have hollow inner dia that will be used to operate a gas valve. The problem is which equations should I use to design the solenoid. I also have to calculate the force that will be required for its operation. If someone knows the web address that have all these informations or some application notes is most welcome.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Last edited by a moderator:

As a fellow scientist, I can understand the challenge you are facing in designing a solenoid. There are a few equations that can be used to design a solenoid, depending on the specific requirements and parameters of your project. Some common equations used in solenoid design include the Biot-Savart law, Ampere's law, and the force equation for a solenoid.

The Biot-Savart law calculates the magnetic field produced by a current-carrying wire, which can be used to determine the magnetic field strength inside the solenoid. Ampere's law can be used to calculate the magnetic field strength around the solenoid, which is important for determining the overall performance of the solenoid.

The force equation for a solenoid takes into account the number of turns in the solenoid, the current flowing through it, and the magnetic field strength to calculate the force exerted by the solenoid. This equation can be useful in determining the strength of the solenoid needed to operate the gas valve.