Searching for a solution for a long time

• Thread starter spriggster
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary: Does somebody on PF know how to prove this?Re-express the problem in the form:x = ln (3/x)If you can find a solution, it'd be great if you could explain to me how you came about it in simple (if possible) explanation.In summary, the problem is to find the value of x when x is expressed in terms of the function ln(3/x). There are two possible methods to solve the equation: the method of successive substitutions and the half-interval method. Both methods are iterative, and it is difficult to tell how convergent or divergent they are going to be. However, if you can find a solution, it
spriggster
Hello all, I'm new to the forums (signed up to ask this question- this isn't a homework question). My friend gave me this equation a while back and all of my math teachers that I've asked have been stumped. I'm currently a sophomore in high school with no calculus experience (currently Algebra 2 honors), so this problem threw me off. If you can find a solution, it'd be great if you could explain to me how you came about it in simple (if possible) explanation.

The problem:

x(e^x) = 3
Solve for x

Thanks a lot guys!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
What do you mean by "solve"? Do you just want to know the value of x? If so you can find the answer graphically by plotting the function e^x and the function 3/x on the same graph. The solution will be where they intersect, and it has a value of about 1.05. If you want to write x in terms of "elementary functions" (sines, cosines, polynomials, etc), that is not possible. However, there is a defined function that will give x. It is called the "Lambert W" function or the "Product Log" function. Here is the Wikipedia page on it.

phyzguy said:
If you want to write x in terms of "elementary functions" (sines, cosines, polynomials, etc), that is not possible.

Does somebody on PF know how to prove this?