Quantum Master Equation in String Theory

In summary, the quantum master equation (or BV master equation) is a fundamental equation in the Batalin-Vilkovisky formalism that extends Quantum Field Theory from points to manifolds, and is an important concept in string theory. It is a highly specialized area in physics that requires advanced knowledge in quantum field theory and other topics.
Caeadas
Can anyone give me a general sense of what the quantum master equation (or BV master equation) is and how it relates to string theory? I'm an undergraduate physics student and am hoping to do research with a professor on the topic, but need some basic knowledge on the subject.

Physics news on Phys.org
Caeadas said:
Can anyone give me a general sense of what the quantum master equation (or BV master equation) is and how it relates to string theory? I'm an undergraduate physics student and am hoping to do research with a professor on the topic, but need some basic knowledge on the subject.

Sorry, what? Master equation? BV equation? I have no idea what you're talking about :confused:

Caeadas said:

You mean http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batalin–Vilkovisky_formalism#Master_equation

Nabeshin said:
Sorry, what? Master equation? BV equation? I have no idea what you're talking about :confused:

BV stands for Batalin–Vilkovisky
TheWikipedia article has a section on the BV Master equation.

As I understand it, string theory is an extention of Quantum Field Theory from points to manifolds. So wouldn't the master equation be one that simply extends QFT from points to manifolds? What else would be needed?

You might find something relevant in the review C. Thorn, "String Field Theory", Phys. Rept. 175 , 1, (1989). You should be able to get a pdf version of the article by following the link to the http://www-lib.kek.jp/cgi-bin/img_index?8811139 . You can also find recent papers which cited that review at http://inspirehep.net/search?ln=en&p=refersto:recid:265248