How damaging is a low grade in Calculus II?

In summary: So I would say it is skewed towards lower grades, but not fatally so.In summary, Double majoring in Physics and Mathematics at a small liberal arts school, and currently a freshman, with a 4.0 GPA so far is struggling with Calculus II. He is typically averaging grades in the sixties, and is lost on how to improve his grades. He plans on speaking with his professor during his office hours to get help.
chickenwing71
I'm double majoring in Physics and Mathematics at a small liberal arts school, and I am currently a freshman, with a 4.0 GPA so far. Right now I am taking Calculus II, and I am becoming quite frustrated. I definitely understand the material, and have little difficulty with homework or understanding lectures, and I feel I am doing as well (learning) as I did in Calculus I, in which I earned an A. However, I am typically averaging grades in the sixties, and am lost on how. I will earn a 100 on a quiz, then a 65 on an exam, and a 30 on another quiz. I'll make a very simple mistake and earn a 40 instead of 100 on his weekly quizzes. I am planning on speaking to my professor during his office hours to see if I even have a chance of passing the course still, and if there is anything I can do to help my grade.

How should I go about this? I don't want to seem angry with him, but I don't want to state that I feel I am a D student either. I am earning an A in Physics II at this very moment. If for some reason I fail the course, or earn a grade in the C range, will this hurt my chances at graduate school or REU programs? Calculus II is such a fundamental math course, and I am afraid it will end quite badly. Is there any way you recommend I approach my professor about it? He'll be teaching my Calculus III and Discrete Math courses in the Fall (that is if I don't fail Calculus II).

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
How damaging is a low grade in Calculus II?