A trailer doesn't react to a tractor's backing up until 10 feet of travel

In summary: When a tractor-trailer is doing straight line backing, if the truck driver turns the steering wheel to the left or the right, the trailer will not respond by going the opposite direction until the tractor has backed up around 10 feet. To me, this seems counterintuitive and also potentially false. The tractor is connected to the trailer at the fifth wheel of the tractor. The trailer has a cylindrical bolt hanging down from the front of the trailer called a kingpin. The fifth wheel of the tractor has locking jaws that lock around the kingpin. The connection between the fifth wheel and the kingpin is a rigid connection. To me, it seems like since the connection between the fifth wheel and the kingpin is
bluemoonKY
I am a trucker. I pull 53' dry van trailers with a big rig truck (a tractor). When a tractor-trailer backs straight backwards (not turning ) it is called straight line backing. Probably most people here know from backing boat trailers or other trailers at some point in their lives that when backing a trailer, if you turn the steering wheel to the left, it will make the rear of your trailer go to the right and if you turn steering wheel to the right, it will make the rear of the trailer go towards the left.