Accelerometer drop tests evaluation

In summary, accelerometer drop tests are used to evaluate the integrity and durability of electronic devices, such as smartphones and fitness trackers. These tests involve dropping the device from different heights onto various surfaces to simulate real-life impact scenarios. The data collected from these tests can be used to assess the device's ability to withstand accidental drops and inform design improvements. Accelerometer drop tests are an important tool in the quality control and development process of electronic devices.
Umair Shariff
Good morning everyone! I am a Medical Doctor and have a very basic understanding of physics (Studied till high school). I was very much interested in freefall experiments and wanted to do something by myself. I was interested to see if I can demonstrate the lack of gravitational pull during freefall and to test it, I used the accelerometer in my phone and an app to record the data. I have compiled it all in the attached excel file and was very curious about a couple of things that I noticed in the data.

Note that this could very well be due to flaws of the experiment and may very well not reflect in a very closed system.
  1. The graph derived from the freefall tests showed a notch in the accelerometer reading after it was dropped. Has there been any such aberrations in experiments done in closed systems??
  2. Once the object is in freefall, the accelerometer showed progressive rise in acceleration along the Z axis, before it hits the ground.
I would appreciate if someone could help make sense of the readings I acquired, if they are artifacts or have these findings been observed in closed system experimentation.

Thank you for your time.

Attachments

• Phone Drop Test.xlsx
    27.9 KB · Views: 192
Physics news on Phys.org
Umair Shariff said: