Acoustics type question on reflection....

In summary, the conversation discusses a question on acoustics and the need for help in solving it. The question involves calculating the level of the return signal after reflection from a wall, given the sound power level of a piece of machinery and other factors such as the reflection coefficient, air absorption, and directivity angle. The person asking the question is new to the topic and is seeking guidance.
classicswiss
Homework Statement
acoustics type question on reflection
Relevant Equations
see below
Hi, hopefully someone can help with showing me how I can work this one out as I am new to the topic area and a bit stumped.

A piece of machinery is emitting a sound power level of 100 dB at 40 kHz. Calculate the level of the return signal after reflection from a wall 5 m away using the following:

Reflection coefficient of the wall= 0.6
Air absorption=1.39 dB/m
Directivity angle of the sound emission from the machine= 48 degrees

any thoughts?

Physics news on Phys.org
classicswiss said:
Homework Statement:: acoustics type question on reflection
Homework Equations:: see below

Hi, hopefully someone can help with showing me how I can work this one out as I am new to the topic area and a bit stumped.

A piece of machinery is emitting a sound power level of 100 dB at 40 kHz. Calculate the level of the return signal after reflection from a wall 5 m away using the following:

Reflection coefficient of the wall= 0.6
Air absorption=1.39 dB/m
Directivity angle of the sound emission from the machine= 48 degrees

any thoughts?
Welcome to the PF. :smile:

We are not allowed to help you until you show your best efforts to work the problem. What are the Relevant Equations for 1) reflections and 2) attenuation of power during propagation?

1. What is reflection in acoustics?