Advice on doing the Egg Drop challenge with High Schoolers

In summary, there is no consensus on the best way to do the egg drop challenge. Some people think using parachutes is the best way to go, while others think using materials from home is the best way to do it.
nate99
Hello

I'm relatively new to teaching physics and was wondering if you anyone had advices as to the parameters to put on this challenge.

How high should I drop their containers from? 2nd or 3rd story?

When I was in school, I think we could only use glue and toothpicks, but I don't remember if there was like a weight limit on it.

I was thinking popsicle sticks could also be good.

I would love any advice from people who have successfully done this challenge before. Thanks!

Science news on Phys.org
There's https://www.physicsforums.com/search/1871649/?q=egg&o=relevancefor a search for the word egg. Perhaps there's something useful amongst all that ?

Really? I must not be using this right. I searched Egg in the titles of threads on this forum and got nothing. Care to weigh in?

https://www.physicsforums.com/search/1871649/?q=egg&o=relevance
was the link in my reply.

Thanks, I had a look at the past conversations about it. I guess what I was looking for was advice with some thoughts about what worked well and what didn't. Most of the conversations are from students about how best to make a container.

But I guess in looking at the replies, it seems there is no consensus BEST way to do the project. I know that I don't want to use parachutes, and I would really like to limit the materials used. There was a conversation that seemed like there were really unique materials allowed, but it seems like that didn't go anywhere.

If there any teachers around that have run these challenges before, please chime in and talk about what worked. Thanks

nate99 said:
T<snip>it seems there is no consensus BEST way to do the project. <snip>