Angular dependance of NEXAFS spectroscopy - derivation

In summary, the quantum mechanical description of the excitation process for a single electron in the dipole approximation is given by |<ψi|e.p|ψf>|, with e as the unit electric field vector and p as the dipole transition operator. For linearly polarised light, the matrix elements can be simplified to e.|<ψi|p|ψf>| due to the perpendicular and oscillating nature of the electric field vector. This allows us to take the electric dipole vector out front, representing the direction and magnitude of the electric field responsible for the transition. This is why we can rewrite the inner product as a dot product, giving us the component of the dipole transition operator aligned with
Fegito
Hi all, this is my first time posting so I hope it's in the right place, if not I apologise. I'm trying to understand the angular dependence in NEXAFS spectroscopy for linearly polarised light.

So from what I understand, the quantum mechanical description of the excitation process for a single electron in the dipole approximation, is given as |<ψi|e.pf>| where e is the unit electric field vector and p is the dipole transition operator. In all the books/sites I have read it then states that for linearly polarised light, the matrix elements of interest take a simplified form, and can be written as:

|<ψi|e.pf>| = e.|<ψi|pf>|

It then goes on with the derivation, which is fairly straightforward What I don't understand is this seemingly simple step, more specifically why the electric dipole vector can be taken out front (I have no prior knowledge of quantum mechanics so there's a good chance it's something really simple which I'm just not understanding!). Would someone please be able to shed some light on this? Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org

Hello and welcome to the forum! I'm happy to help you understand the angular dependence in NEXAFS spectroscopy for linearly polarised light.