Any good open universities around?

In summary, the speaker has obtained a degree in physics and worked in the field for a few years before deciding to become a space systems engineer. They have found a job under their new degree but feel unfulfilled and have a strong desire to study physics again. They are seeking advice on open universities that offer online courses in theoretical physics and are considering self-study as an option.
miou@mitsou
Hello,
forum its been some time since I posted something on this site, feels good to be back :)

well I am facing a problem and have thought about it and think I will be needing some help from you guys... the story goes as such..

well, I finished a four year degree in the field of physics (where i come from the BSc is 4 yrs and not 3) i worked for a couple of years on modeling neutron star collisions... etc. After that, I decided to become a space systems engineer and hence returned back to studying where I obtained myself a second BSc and a MSc in space systems engineering. Everythig has turned out nicely so far and have found a job under my MSc title, have a gf and soon planning to have kids...

Though I feel empty and sad inside, because I have regretted my decision become an engineer, its not that I don't like it; its just that after understanding what engineering is, I find it boring and not very intellectual at all. I feel this urge and passion inside me to study physics again on the side next to my day job. I know this will be a tedious task but I know that this will make me happy. And hence I want to peruse it.

What I need from you guys/girls is some advice on any open universities that you may know that provide online courses regarding theoretical physics.

Cheers :)

Physics news on Phys.org
miou@mitsou said:
its not that I don't like it;

I find it boring and not very intellectual at all.

These two seem contradictory. Can you expand a bit?

Thank you for your replay,