Apple's new ARM CPUs vs, classic x86 for physics?

In summary, the author is looking to replace their computer and is considering two options, a Mac or a Windows laptop. They note that the Macs are compatible with a few software titles, but the Windows laptops are not compatible with some titles. They recommend looking at what the price of an M1 Mac would get you in desktop hardware with as much screen real estate as you can afford.
Dex_
TL;DR Summary
ARM vs x86. Which is more compatible with Physics software?
Hi it's my first post here!
I'm in my second year of my degree and looking to replace my computer. The new M-series chips seem like a better deal, however I am nervous that some software that might not be compatible with the ARM architecture. For more context on my workflow I do quite a bit of coding and use MacTeX for my lab reports.

Should I go with the Macs or buy a Windows laptop?

Computer science news on Phys.org
What "physics software" are you looking at, and what does it say about requirements?

Likes vela and FactChecker
When I upgraded to Apple Silicon awhile back, I didn't have to abandon any software due to compatibility. The current version of MacTeX runs natively on ARM, and I'm pretty sure the previous one did too. The only software I stopped using was DropBox since they still hadn't bothered to release an ARM client at the time and I didn't really use DropBox anymore anyway. The ARM-based systems have been out for a while now, so I would expect most developers who support macOS have already ported their software to Apple Silicon.

Likes Dex_