Could a Mac be useful for a physics student?

In summary, the person is looking for a new computer and is considering a MAC this time. They have used a MAC before and found them to be reliable, so they are leaning towards it this time. They are worried about whether or not they will be able to run the programs they need on a MAC, but they are confident that they can because they have done it before.
Const@ntine
Hey there! As the title implies, I'm looking for a new computer, and I'm thinking of going with a MAC this time. See, I'm in my first Semester of Physics (here we don't take courses per se, we get into a specific branch of a University and we attend the lectures mandated by said branch, we can't choose what we want). I've been using a custom built PC that I got about a year and a half prior, but since I'm not really one to build rigs, I gathered the cash and gave them to my tech guy to build one for me. Thing is, the PC is faulty. I don't know whether he did a bad job or whether the parts were not in good condition, but at this point I've sent it to three different technicians, about 7 times in total, and yesterday, another problem came up, which is ironic, since it was being "fixed" for 2 weeks now, and I only got it just yesterday.
In general, the transistor is faulty from what I've gathered, and the machine keeps getting short-circuited. That, plus now I can't copy or create new files, while I can't download, install or even run various programs, due to "Fault 0x80070570". I called the tech shop that had him for repairing the past 2 weeks, and they told me to call them on Monday, but they didn't sound hopeful...