Applying Mech Enginneering for an Independent Project

In summary, a high school senior is seeking advice on a mechanical engineering project to pursue over the summer. One suggestion is to design and build a robotic unicycle, which would involve research and development of necessary technology. The individual is encouraged to seek help from knowledgeable members of Physics Forums.
alexjc103
Hello,
I am a senior in high school as of Fall 2012 and I am new to PF. Currently I'm self studying physics in preparation for the AP exam( I am aiming for C Mech, if i am prepared in time)and am taking calculus BC. My goal is to take up a project over the summer in which i could apply mechanical engineering skills, where i could get an insight into mechanical engineering while i learn the skills necessary to complete the project. I'm having trouble deciding upon a project and my search is the reason I have come across PF. Could you please give me an example of such a project that is challenging yet manageable by someone just entering the world of mechanical engineering. Your response would be much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
alexjc103, Welcome to Physics Forums!

How about designing and building a robotic (remote control) unicycle? Not that the item itself would be useful, but researching, designing, and building all the technology necessary would be the value.

Thanks Bobbywhy, your answer is much appreciated. I now have to research and get started on my project.

alexjc103 said:
Thanks Bobbywhy, your answer is much appreciated. I now have to research and get started on my project.

If you encounter doubts, conflicting information, or technical questions, then come right back here and ask away. Here there are members with high levels of education, or experience, and both. All are ready to assist you. Let us know what project you decide on.

Cheers,
Bobbywhy

1. What is the process for selecting an independent project in mechanical engineering?