Applying to REUs as a community college student -- Advice?

In summary, Community college student with no research experience is trying to figure out how to write an essay to get accepted into a research REU program.
NatalieJones
Hi everyone -

I'm in my second year at a community college in the US. I'm applying to REUs for the summer. I have no previous research experience as there aren't opportunities at my school. I'm confident in my letters of rec, and I suppose I have an edge because I'm a female from a community college. I'm working through this personal statement. I keep reading conflicting tips and sample essays. I started writing one that I thought was good. It was personable, but when I read example essays it seemed informal. So I went for a more formal approach, and then I read tips to introduce myself and the college I go to, like I'd done originally. Also, a lot of the advice I've read was geared towards people who were from universities and had done research before.

I know the point of these essays is to say why I'm interested in a particular program and what value I'd bring, but how do I do that without saying, "I'm a diligent, independent worker who wants nothing more than to do research"? All that is true, but it's nothing special. I know that those are things my professors will put in their letters, so I don't necessarily need to write it like this, but I know it needs to be conveyed. And I've also emailed many of the professors I'm interested in working with, so they at least know of my interest. I feel like my professors are going to try to make me stand out in their letters, but I'm not sure how to do this is my essay because I don't have experience to talk about. I have personal experiences unrelated to physics that might be of interest, but again they're not related to physics.