Applying to top schools -- What do they look for?

• Admissions
  • Thread starter Squark123
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Schools
In summary: I think this is the equation of a surface, right? If you take the derivative on the right side you get $-i\hbar\left(\frac{1}{2}\left(x-k\right)+\frac{1}{2}\left(y-k\right)\right)$. So, the energy eigenstates are solutions to this surface equation.
Squark123
I am applying to graduate schools in physics. I studied physics independently when I was doing a challenging B.Sc degree. Despite taking no mathematics and physics courses, my studies enabled me to score highly in the physics GRE and to succeed in several theoretical physics graduate courses. I did not do research in the sense of doing some original calculation which is worthy of publication. But I did study subjects, such as quantum field theory and algebraic topology on my own. I am writing this because I would like to apply to top schools. However, I am reluctant to do so because they look for strong research experience, like for instance working under some supervisor doing some calculation/simulation. I did not produce any new knowledge. Will this self-study convince the admission committees at ,say top 20, schools to choose me? My scores in the graduate physics courses are good (As and B) For instance, I earned an A in an electrodynamics course taught from Jackson. Will this be sufficient?

Physics news on Phys.org
Squark123 said:
Despite taking no mathematics and physics courses,

This will likely be a problem. Even having taken and done well in graduate courses, there may be a question as to whether you have the appropriate background. That said, I suppose a lot depends on what your undergraduate program did include. A challenging engineering program with good marks in graduate physics courses will likely make you competitive. An arts major who somehow managed to get learn enough E&M to do well in a first year graduate class, perhaps less so.