Are the following statements true? (1) a∈{{a},{a,b}} and (2) b∈{{a},{a,b}} true?

• Thread starter john-ice2023
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Set theory
john-ice2023
TL;DR Summary: Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. Albert Einstein.

I am new to set theory. I got confused about above questions.
For Q(1), I have two solutions,
(a) because a is not the element of set {{a},{a,b}}, so a∈{{a},{a,b}} is False.
(b) because {a}∈{{a},{a,b}} and a∈{a}, therefore a∈{{a},{a,b}} is True.
which one is correct?
Thanks! John.

(MENTOR note): looks like homework so moved to a HW forum but template is missing.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Wow
Likes nuuskur
Physics news on Phys.org
This looks like a homework problem. We are only allowed to give hints after we see your work. There is a format for homework questions.
In your work, you should state exactly what the members of the set {{a}, {a,b}} are.

This is not homework. I saw it on the Internet. I just want to learn something new.

john-ice2023 said:
This is not homework. I saw it on the Internet. I just want to learn something new.
Yes, but the problem is that we have no way of confirming that so when it even LOOKS like a homework problem, we do ask that the poster show some effort on their own rather than just asking for an answer.

Last edited:
Likes FactChecker
Its pretty straight forward by understanding the set notation and definition
- a is an element
- {a} is a set containing the element a
- {{a}} is a set containing the set {a} which contains the element a

so:

- is a and element of the set {a}?

- is a an element of the set {{a}}?

- is {a} and element of the set {{a}}?

What do you think the answers are?

Likes phinds and FactChecker
## a ## belongs to ## \{ a \} ##, but ## a ## is not equal to ## \{ a \} ##.

john-ice2023 said:
TL;DR Summary: Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. Albert Einstein.