Avionics Programming Learning Materials?

In summary, the conversation discusses the individual's interest in learning about the Ada language for avionics but having trouble finding resources. The conversation then shifts to discussing the use of C in flight critical equipment and the importance of understanding the application rather than just the language. Resources are recommended for learning about avionics communication protocols, software verification standards, and embedded programming. The individual's background is also clarified as a freshman in college.
RooksAndBooks
Gold Member
I'm an aspiring aerospace engineer. I know that Ada is a language used in many planes today, but I can't find anything to learn about Ada for avionics--I couldn't find books or tutorials. Do any of you guys have any recommendations on how to go about this? I'm very interested in teaching myself but I can't find any learning materials.

Physics news on Phys.org
I can find materials on learning the Ada language, but not on how to use Ada in an airplane.

a LOT of code in flight critical equipment is written in C.

That being said I wouldn't worry about the language, worry about the application

donpacino said:
a LOT of code in flight critical equipment is written in C.

That being said I wouldn't worry about the language, worry about the application

I can find tutorials on any programming language on the Internet, but basically what I'm asking for is a resource that will teach me how to program in (language) in a way that an airplane would be able to understand as well as how I would go about installing it on avionics (as well as debugging). I'm worried about how to put it on airplane avionics, not how to learn a programming language.

what exactly do you mean?
are you referring to flight code for a hobbyist UAV, or flight code for a boeing 737

donpacino said:
what exactly do you mean?
are you referring to flight code for a hobbyist UAV, or flight code for a boeing 737