(Biomedical) Fluid mechanics: flow, resistance, and pressure

In summary, the cardiovascular system works through a complex interplay between cardiac output (Q), mean arterial pressure (P), and total peripheral resistance (R). The relationship between these variables can be described by the equation Q = P/R, or Ohm's law of fluid flow. However, the pumping characteristic of the heart also plays a role in this system, as it responds to changes in pressure and affects the overall flow rate. The location of most peripheral resistance in the vascular circuit is thought to be in the capillary beds or arterioles. Additionally, the compliance of arteries, similar to a capacitor in an electrical circuit, can also affect flow by storing and releasing blood volume. This all leads to a complex system where changes in one variable
DNA888
Hello, I'm a physician with special interest in cardiovascular physiology. I'm trying to comprehend the basic physics of the cardiovascular system. Here's my thought process -

Simply stated - the heart muscle contracts, thereby causing a reduction in the cardiac chamber volume and release of blood out of the chanber in the process. Consider an ideal situation where cardiac contraction produces X units of force, which then pumps 70 mL of blood out into the arteries. If the heart beats 70 times a minute, this would add up to around 5L/min - aka the cardiac output (Q). Total resistance of the arterial network against which the blood is pumped (R) = 20 mm Hg/L/min. When blood is pumped against this resistance, it produces an arterial pressure (P) of 100 mm Hg.

The relationship between cardiac output (flow), mean arterial pressure (P), and total peripheral resistance (R) has been described as -