Build Your Own Leaf Shredder with the Help of a Mechanical Engineer

• Thread starter czachcross
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Manual
In summary, the speaker is interested in building a leaf shredder and is unsure of who to contact for help or plans. They are wondering if a mechanical engineer would be involved in this type of project and are considering reaching out to the co-op at the provided link. The speaker also mentions that they are not a mechanical engineer and do not have access to one nearby. They are informed that for design and analysis, a licensed mechanical engineer would be needed, but for construction, a welding/fabrication shop specializing in custom equipment would be ideal.
czachcross
I'd like to build a leaf shredder like this:
http://dbco-op.org/dry-shredder/

I'm not a mechanical engineer and my first question is who would I ask to either make one for me or help me figure it out? Is this a tool a mechanical engineer would build?

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
I recommend contacting the co-op at the link you gave and see if you can get some plans for building your own.

sending out an email to them. is this a project a mechanical engineer would be involved in? If it were wood I'd call a carpenter, stone I'd call a mason but for something like this I'm not sure who to contact. The person who made the one in the video called himself a "practical mechanician." Not sure if that is a common trade name or his personal title. He doesn't live near me either.

If you were wanting to have something designed and analyzed you would use a licensed mechanical engineer. To have something like this built, you need a welding/fabrication shop, hopefully one that specializes in custom equipment (maybe farm equipment?)

ok great. thank you for the information!

1. What is a leaf shredder and why is it useful?