Calculate required torque for differential drive robot

Overall, the In-traction torque is the most crucial value to focus on when determining if the motors have enough torque to drive the vehicle.
DannyMoretz
Hello everyone,
So I am working on a differential drive vehicle... max weight 6kg and using two stepper motors centred on a circular shaped flat body. I want to try and work out if these stepper motors have enough torque to drive the thing. I am a second year engineering student, but I haven't really done any similar calculations before. I also don't understand the spec sheet for the stepper motor... in regards to torque... it says things like:
In-traction torque: >34.3mNm (120HZ)
Self-positioning torque: >34.3mNm
Friction torque: 600-1200 gf.cm
Pull in torque: 300 gf.cm

So once calculated, which one of the above values should I be concerned about.

Thanks guys

Physics news on Phys.org
!The most important value to consider when determining the torque of the stepper motors is the In-traction torque. This is the torque that is required to move the vehicle. The self-positioning torque is not necessary as it is not directly related to movement. The friction torque and pull in torque are also important to consider, as they represent the maximum amount of resistance that the motor can handle before stalling.

Related to Calculate required torque for differential drive robot

1. How do I calculate the required torque for a differential drive robot?

The required torque for a differential drive robot can be calculated using the formula: T = (F x d)/2, where T is the torque in Nm, F is the force in N, and d is the distance between the wheels in meters. This formula assumes that the force is evenly distributed between the two wheels.

2. What factors affect the required torque for a differential drive robot?