Calculating Gyration forces on a propellor shaft

In summary, the conversation discusses the method for calculating the forces exerted on a prop shaft as a plane goes into a turn or incline/decline. The moment exerted on the propeller is calculated using the formula Mz = Iprop * \varpiprop * \varpiplane, where \varpiplane is determined based on the radius of the turn and airspeed of the plane. The conversation also discusses the calculations for the moment of inertia of the propeller and whether the results seem reasonable.
RussellJ
I am a Co-op student trying to calculate the forces exerted on a prop shaft as the plane goes into a turn or incline/decline.

this is my method of finding the moment exerted on the propeller for a plane in a turn

If the propellor is rotating about a horizontal axis (X) and the plane is in a turn, rotating about a vertical axis (Y) then there is a moment exerted on the propeller about a axis perpendicular to both the Y and X axis (Z axis) which is calculated by:

Mz = Iprop*[tex]\varpi[/tex]prop*[tex]\varpi[/tex]plane

where [tex]\varpi[/tex]plane is calculated based on the radius of the turn the plane is making and the airspeed of the plane then [tex]\varpi[/tex]plane = speed of plane / radius of turn * unit conversion to rad/s

Is that the extent of the forces?

Sorry if this isn't very concise

Engineering news on Phys.org
Maybe if i write out my calculations it will be easier to understand.

The prop rotates at 1000RPM so that's 9.551 Rad/s

the plane has a minimum turning radius of 1.5 Miles and an airspeed of 374 dividing the speed by the radius and converting gives ~ .069 rad/s.

to calculate the moment of inertia of the prop I assumed the propeller blades were triangles 2.166m high with a .3048 wide base and a thickness of .0508m and all four blades roughly weigh 500lbs total. This gave me a density of 3436.3.