Can a 63mm Bore Pneumatic Ram handle the required weight at an angled position?

In summary, the conversation is about a beginner in Physics who needs help calculating the weight capacity of a 63mm Bore Pneumatic Ram at an angle. They have attached a sketch of the layout and have done calculations for the weight capacity at a 90 degree angle, but are stuck when the ram is at an angle. The expert suggests using basic trigonometry to write the force as a sum of components and requests a more complete description and a detailed sketch to provide further assistance. They also mention using the principle of virtual work as a potential solution.
AnnekeL
Hey

So I am still a beginner in Physics and work asked me today to calculate if a 63mm Bore Pneumatic Ram will do the required job. Anyway, so I know how to calculate the weight capacity the ram can handle if it is at a 90 deg angle however if the ram is on an angle then I am stuck. I need to get back to them today and as a part student, I am finding this hard. any help would be awesome :)

I have attached a sketch of the layout and how i calculate the weight capacity calculations i have done.

Attachments

• 20170801_134908.jpg
    20170801_134908.jpg
    21.1 KB · Views: 504
  • 20170801_134853.jpg
    20170801_134853.jpg
    23.3 KB · Views: 443
Physics news on Phys.org
AnnekeL said:
Anyway, so I know how to calculate the weight capacity the ram can handle if it is at a 90 deg angle however if the ram is on an angle then I am stuck.
Force is a vector. Do you know how to write a vector as a sum of components?

You meaning like a resultant force where Fnet=F1+F2?

AnnekeL said:
You meaning like a resultant force where Fnet=F1+F2?
Sort of, but working backwards in this case: you know the total force already and you need to write it as the sum F1 and F2, where one of these is vertical and one is horizontal. You'll need some basic trigonometry (what ##\sin## and ##\cos## mean) as well.