Can anyone help me figure out how fast a bus was going?

In summary, a 40,000-pound object was traveling at 35 mph when it was hit by a bus traveling at 45 mph, causing the car to launch 7-9 feet forward and rotate 180 degrees. There were no skid marks to measure the bus's stopping distance.
stingle
I don’t know much about physics, but I was recently in an accident and I am trying to figure out approx how fast the other driver was going.
What details would I need for the formula?

I do know the object weighs 40,000 lbs (speed limit in area was 35, so I know it was going anywhere from 35-45 mph)
I was hit with enough force to launch my car (weight 1800 lbs) 7-9 feet forward and rotate it over 180 degrees.

There were no skid marks to measure the bus did stop approx 30 feet after impact.

From the info above is there any way to figure out speed, if not what other info would be needed?

I am not very good at numbers so any input/assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

stingle said:
I do know the object weighs 40,000 lbs (speed limit in area was 35, so I know it was going anywhere from 35-45 mph)
I was hit with enough force to launch my car (weight 1800 lbs) 7-9 feet forward and rotate it over 180 degrees.

There were no skid marks to measure the bus did stop approx 30 feet after impact. …

Hi stingle! Welcome to PF! :smile:

Sorry, but without skid marks, it's virtually impossible even to estimate the speed. :redface: