Can I self-study math to improve my skills and advance in my career?

In summary, the speaker graduated with a liberal arts degree and is currently working as a programmer. They are now looking to go back to school for an advanced degree in data science/analytics, but they are struggling with their lack of math knowledge. They are seeking advice on how to self-study and improve their math skills, particularly in the areas of calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, probability, and statistics. They are considering using resources like Khan Academy and community college classes to achieve their goal.
laviedevote
So, I graduated a few years ago with a liberal arts degree and I'm currently working as a programmer. Although I'm pretty good with the practical application of computer programming, my math is horrendously bad. Now that I'm wanting to go back to school, obtain an advanced degree, and change fields, I'm finding my lack of math knowledge to be a real stumbling block to my professional development.

When I say my math is horrendously bad, I mean shocklingly bad. I can pretty much do just basic algebra (think pre Algebra+1) and that's it. It's not that I was incapable of learning math, it's just that I goofed off in the classes and never learned the concepts. Since math is a field which functions using building blocks of increasingly abstract concepts, that really killed me. The only way I passed math in high school was because the tests were multiple choice and I was clever enough to work backward with each of the solutions.

I'd like to cover the math that's usually covered in an undergraduate CS program, which generally includes Calc I, II, III, linear algebra, differential equations, probability and statics, etc...

I know it's a tall order and I have a loooooong way to go, but does anyone have some advice?

Mathematics news on Phys.org