Can someone with chronic health issues work as an engineer?

In summary, chronic health problems may make it difficult for someone to work as an engineer, but there are a few options available. If you are interested in completing an EE degree online, that is possible, but it is not ideal. If you are interested in pursuing a career as an engineer, it is important to find a school that has a good career counseling office.
JenPerson
Hi, I'm new to these forums so please forgive me if I am posting in the wrong section.

Do you think it's possible for someone with chronic health problems to work as an engineer? More specifically, someone who is a recent cancer survivor who deals with chronic fatigue, gets sick easily, etc?

I'm in my mid 20s and have been getting treated on and off for cancer for the past 4 years. I'm currently enrolled in an EE program (online) and I recently finished my first semester. I have an Associate of Arts degree but not very many of my past courses will transfer. Although I would like to finish the degree, I'm wondering now if it makes sense for me to do so.

Should I finish the degree, even if it's likely I won't be able to work as an engineer?
Should I switch over to a different STEM degree, like IT or something like that?

I suppose I could also not bother getting a degree but that doesn't sound like a wise idea.

Your feedback is very much appreciated, thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hopefully you will be better when you graduate.

But then there is the issue of how distance degrees in EE are valued on the labor market. It is one of the reasons why our EE department is not offering their courses for distance learning.

Likes symbolipoint
JenPerson said:
Hi, I'm new to these forums so please forgive me if I am posting in the wrong section.