Can Studying Medical Physics Abroad Affect Residency Opportunities?

In summary: I don't think residents should be entitled to the same salary as students who have spent four years in school (granted, some residents are very accomplished and deserve to make more than students, but that's a different debate). In summary, you will need to have gone through an accredited residency in order to qualify to write the ABR certification exam. This is possible, but you'll generally be lumped into the "non-accredited" candidate pool. You might want to check with the schools that you're looking at though.
Raioneru
I am a sophomore physics major student. I wish to study medical physics when I graduate.
But I would like to go abroad and study for my Msc in Med Phys. in england or france (I speak french)

but problem is that, in 2 years from now (correct me if I'm wrong) a med phys graduate would have to go to an accredited residency program in order to take the abr board exam.

and I know that residency programs have 1st order preference for accredited graduate, and then for non-accredited graduate.

so my worries are,
I'm going abroad so I will study at a non-campep-acccredited university (even though the University I will go is top notch in france and europe).

getting into a residency programs will be problematic?
studying in a foreign language for the master degree will it be problematic?

thank you in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
By 2014, you will need to have gone through an accredited residency in order to qualify to write the ABR certification exam.

Unfortunately I don't have as much insight into the European system, but if you're doing your studies overseas, there should be no reason you can't do a residency and certification over there as well. If you look at most American medical physicist positions, they require "ABR certification or equivalent."