What Elective Classes Should I Take for a BSEE to Specialize in FPGA and RF Systems?

• Courses
  • Thread starter Paddy1337
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Classes
In summary, the engineer advised the PF to take classes that will help him with his goals of becoming a systems engineer, and to also take classes to help him understand how software works.
Paddy1337
Hello,

I have a question for engineers, and I'm hoping they can assist me in selecting the most beneficial classes while pursuing my BSEE. First, let me give you my background in case that helps. I'm in the US, and already employed within my desired field (generally). My job title/labor category is actually Systems Engineer; I qualified based on my somewhat unique practical experience gained in the military. I do not, however, fool myself into thinking I'm a real engineer. I bring this up so that you have some perspective in that I have a pretty clear understanding of where I want to go with my career, but am not 100% sure on the exact path.

My desire is to design/build/R&D electronic systems in the RF domain. My background was in the T&E of already built systems, and some integration of systems. I want to create them. In the last 10 years, as an end-user, I saw my systems transition to almost entirely FPGA based. I was not a fan of them, originally, but have seen that in my specific field, they are here to stay and getting extremely prolific. Antennas blow my mind, but my research into the science behind them has scared me off that track, if I'm honest.

At this point, here's electives that make sense to me:
HDL and programmable logic
DSPs
Microwaves
Communication systems
various upper-level circuits classes

Can you see any glaring gaps in my plan? I don't want to graduate thinking I have education that applies to FPGAs and find out HDL was one little piece of the puzzle and I missed something more important.

Thank you greatly

Physics news on Phys.org