Circuit Design Help for 0 to 5V Input and DC Output of 20V

In summary, the conversation discusses the design of a circuit that takes an input ranging from 0 to 5V and outputs 20V (DC) if the input is between 1 and 4V, and nothing for 0 or 5V. The proposed solution is a Shmidt trigger, but there are concerns about the output still being moderately large when the input goes above 4V and the reference voltage being tied to the output. Suggestions are made to design the circuit so that the reference voltage is fixed and to not worry about the non-ideal behavior of the op-amp for this class assignment.
danonymous
Hi!
This is my first time posting here at PF, so forgive me if i am going against any rules.

Homework Statement
I haven been given a problem to design a circuit that takes an input ranging from 0 to 5V, and outputs:
20V (DC) if the input is between 1 and 4V
and
nothing for 0 or 5V.

The attempt at a solution

From what i have learned from class/research, a Shmidt trigger would be a good approach.
i designed one that "kind of" works, but doesn't do what i had intended. it does output a 20V DC signal if the input is between 1 and 4V, but if i go above 4V, i still get a moderately large output (~12V).
below is my circuit and an explanation for my resistor values.

circuit1.jpg

from what i understand, with a Shmidt trigger,
Voutput = +V
until
V1 > +V*R2/(R1+R2)

once greater, Voutput would drop to -V.

i have set the positive and negative supply voltages on my comparator to be 20V and 1mV respectively.
thus, i was expecting Voutput to go to ~1mV when Vin > 4V.

any insight/hints would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
I see 1 problem, and possibly 2, with this design.

Yes, the output will become ~1 mV when V1 rises above 4 volts. But, at that point, the equation for the reference voltage (+ input of op-amp) will be

Vref = (1 mV)*R2/(R1+R2)

What is that new reference value then (hint: it is not 4V anymore).