Concerns of a Math Major: Will a B+ in Topology Impact My Graduate School Apps?

It is important to focus on improving your understanding and skills in topology rather than getting a perfect grade. Overall, you should not worry too much about this grade affecting your future in mathematics. In summary, getting a B/B+ in your Intro Topology course as a sophomore math major will not greatly impact your chances of getting into graduate school for pure math. It is more important to focus on improving your understanding and skills in topology rather than achieving a perfect grade. Therefore, your concern may be overreacting and you should not feel inadequate because of this grade.
altcmdesc
I'm a 1st semester sophomore math major right now and I'm taking an Intro Topology course this semester. It ended up being harder than I expected it to be and I'm fairly certain that I will end up with a B/B+ (most likely a B+) in the course due to one bad exam. How bad will this look when I'm applying to graduate school (in pure math)? I feel as though I'm a little inadequate because of this. Am I just overreacting or does my concern have any merit?

Physics news on Phys.org
Getting a B/B+ is not bad at all (unless the class average is an A+)

I understand your concern about the B+ in your Topology course and how it may impact your graduate school applications. However, I want to assure you that one grade does not define your potential as a mathematician. Admissions committees for graduate programs in pure math are looking for a well-rounded candidate with a strong foundation in mathematics, research experience, and a passion for the subject.