Confused on the premise behind De Broglie's hypothesis

In summary, De Broglie's hypothesis is that particles have a wavelength and that this wavelength is related to their rest mass. Methods 1 and 2 of the electron spin model were developed to account for this relationship. However, Method 2 is the stronger argument and should be used over Method 1.
DanielR1
TL;DR Summary
How does the premise that lamda=h/mv make sense? The derivation doesn't seem mathematically correct.
I'm confused on how De Broglie's hypothesis works. I've attached my thinking in a pdf file below.
I'm not an expert in the field of particle physics(I'm only in high school), so there may be some error in my logic(I really think so, or else De Broglie was wrong!(hint:he isn't))
I've also read that Method 1 is wrong as a whole, but I decided to include it anyways. I think method 2 is the stronger argument though.
Any particle physics expert know the origin of De Broglie's hypothesis, and know the error I have made? I would really like to know, this has been bugging me for a bit.
Thank you!
*edit: I made a small but significant math error, I just fixed it and it should be okay now(but the problem still persists, just slightly differently)

Attachments

• De Broglie-1.pdf
    2.1 MB · Views: 212
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
E=mc2 is a formula for the rest energy. It only applies to particles at rest.
E=hf is a formula for moving things.
Applying these two at the same time cannot work.

p=mv is only an approximation at low velocities, if you want to derive anything use the relativistic ##p=\gamma m v##.

##v_p = f \lambda## measures the phase velocity of particles, this is different from the group velocity (i.e. how fast the particle goes from A to B). You are mixing the two different velocities.
The phase velocity for massive particles is always faster than the speed of light. This is not in conflict with relativity because nothing moves forward at the phase velocity.

Last edited:
mfb said: