Considering Transferring to College: Financially Based Decisions

In summary, the individual is transferring to a university and has to choose between Cal State Long Beach and Cal State La. They are having trouble finding housing in Long Beach and are considering taking a year off to save money. However, they could also attend Cal State Long Beach and deal with housing issues but graduate sooner. They are financially independent and have received $20,000 in aid. They also have a job and are self-studying advanced math topics. The individual is unsure about the quality of the mathematics programs at both schools and their ability to attend graduate school in the future. They also mention that graduate school in mathematics is often paid for and finding housing can become easier once they are already living in the area.
MidgetDwarf
So I am transferring to a university in the Fall semester. My major is mathematics. Due to my economic situation I have to choose between Cal State Long Beach or Cal State La.

So I am having trouble finding housing around the Long Beach area. I do not drive. I found a place with other students and my friend is going to live there. The rent is $800 a month, which is something I can afford. The problem is that it has been very hard for me to find places to rent, including a room in a persons home. I can maybe attribute this to my physical appearance.

Anyways, I am receiving $20,000 in aid. I would only be in debt a maximum of $8,000 for a bachelors, worse case scenario. I will be at the mercy of renters, however. If I go this semester, what is to say I can find housing next semester?

I only need 1.5 years for a bachelors, taking 4 classes a semester.

The other option I have is to go to Cal State La. I won't be able to attend this year, because I accepted Long Beach's offer. I will have to do a Fall transfer for next year. I would be out of school for a year.