Coulomb integrals of spherical Bessel functions

In summary, the author is looking for an analytical solution to an integrals involving spherical Bessel functions. They state that they are no expert in math and are struggling with the problem. They ask for help from someone who is and the person provides a summary of the article.
Ben Wilson
Hi, I'm no expert in math so I'm struggling with solving these integrals, I believe there's an analytical solution (maybe in http://www.hfa1.physics.msstate.edu/046.pdf).
$$V_{1234}=\int_{x=0}^{\infty}\int_{y=0}^{\infty}d^3\pmb{x}d^3\pmb{y}\, j_{l_1}^*(a_1\pmb{x})j_{l_2}(a_2\pmb{x})|\pmb{x}-\pmb{y}|^{-1}j_{l_3}^*(a_3\pmb{y})j_{l_4}(a_4\pmb{y})$$
where $j_l(r)$ are spherical Bessel functions. Does anyone know how to solve these integrals analytically?

Physics news on Phys.org
DrDu said:
I would try to express the spherical Bessel functions in terms of eq. 10.54.2 from http://dlmf.nist.gov/10.54
i don't know how this helps, could you elaborate on your next step?

what if the integral was... $$
V_{1234}=\int_{x=0}^{R}\int_{y=0}^{R}dxdy\, j_{l_1}^*(z_{l_1}x/R)j_{l_2}(z_{l_2}x/R)|x-y|^{-1}j_{l_3}^*(z_{l_3}y/R)j_{l_4}(z_{l_4}y/R) $$
where z_l is the first root of the l-th order spherical Bessel function

I think it would be helpful if you could state your original problem.

DrDu said:
im lookin for an analytical way of solving these integrals, specifically the second one, for use as a basis set in a full CI calculation on idealized colloidal nanostructures, hence infinite spherical well solutions - the bessel functions :)

if i turn my integrand into a product of integrals themselve, does this lead to some simplifications? how does this work?

Ben Wilson said:
im lookin for an analytical way of solving these integrals, specifically the second one, for use as a basis set in a full CI calculation on idealized colloidal nanostructures, hence infinite spherical well solutions - the bessel functions :)