Differences between engineering disciplines

• Engineering
  • Thread starter Ritzycat
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary, Civil engineering is more suited to someone who wants to build things for the outside world while Mechanical engineering is more suited to someone who wants to make weapons or spacecraft.
Ritzycat
Hello, I am a high school student and I am having trouble differentiating the different engineering disciplines, notably mechanical + civil engineers. What would be a job that one of these could get, and the other that one could not? I am aiming at a BS in Aerospace engineering, because I have a dream of building rockets or satellites or working for NASA some day. I am aware that aerospace is generally a subfield of mechanical, but people that design these aircraft/ spacecraft are using "structural engineering" which is supposedly a subfield of civil engineering.

I have read the sticky, but I am still a bit confused on this matter. I want to design aircrafts and spacecraft and what not but the breadth all of these fields seem to encompass are confusing me. Can someone explain this to me? Thank you

Physics news on Phys.org
I think ME would give you more options with NASA.

There are aerospace majors that allow you to specialize in aerodynamics, space structures, controls, and so on. try them out.

In Mechanical you can study fluid dynamics and thus propulsion, flight, aircraft wing design, wind tunnel computer simulations or building the real thing :)

So mechanical engineering is more suited to my goals?

Glad I finally joined these forums. Astronomy is my dream and theoretical physics is amazing but the atrocious job market for PhDs has been steering me to more "practical" majors that I can apply to more "practical" jobs while still allowing me to potentially be able to chase my dreams in space.