Eccentric anomaly as function of the eccentric and the mean anomaly

In summary, the conversation discusses two methods for approximating Kepler's equation, which is used to calculate the position of a planet in its orbit. The first method involves using a series expansion of the equation, while the second method involves making approximations and using trigonometric identities. Both methods lead to the same result, which is a power series with coefficients that can be used to approximate the equation. However, the first method results in unnecessary terms that can be dropped to simplify the solution.
prankster1590
I'm reading, or more like deciphering a book about rocket science (Rocket propulsion and spaceflight dynamics from Cornelisse, Schoyer and Wakker). Most of my math skills are self taught from books and I usually figure things out but this one keeps haunting me.

It's some kind of series expansion of Kepler's equation to obtain an equation that aproximates E as function of M and e.

So Kepler's equation is written in this form: x = e sin (M + x) with x = E - M

x is expressed as power series in e

x = a1e + a2e2 + a3e3 + ...

Thus with the help of the double angle trig identity this becomes:

x = a1e + a2e2 + a3e3 + ...+ = e sin M cos x + e sin x cos M

Than the book says do a series expansion of sin x and cos x and substitute with the power series. It is not very clear but I assumed that they meant this:

e sin m (1 - x2/2! + x4/4! -...+) + e cos M (x - x3/3! + x5/5! -...+)

And than substituting the power series

e sin M [1 - (a1e + a2e2 + ...+)2/2! + (a1e + a2e2 + ...+)4/4!] + e cos M [(a1e + a2e2 + ...+) - (a1e + a2e2 + ...+)3/3! + (a1e + a2e2 + ...+)5/5!]

This should give an equation which should allow me to calculate a1, a2 and a3. By equation the coefficients of equal powers of e. But after weeks of trying and trying I still not have the solutions for a2 and a3.

The solutions should be: (but I don't know how)

a1 = sin M
a2 = 1/2 sin 2M