Electric stove ignition causing an EMP?

In summary, the musician's home studio setup is exhibiting strange behavior, including half-power cycling of monitor speakers and problems with the mac pro tower not waking from sleep. The issues appear to be connected to an electrical issue at home, presumably caused by a capacitor. The solution is to suppress the source of the noise.
mattlima
Hi everyone,

I'm a musician and I'm having a very strange electrical issue with my home studio setup. I'm hoping someone here might have some advice for where I could investigate this further or who I could ask for more information. In a nutshell, my monitor speakers (JBL LSR4326P) are exhibiting a strange behavior where they half-power cycle or 'reboot' (as if they were turned off and on instantaneously). I was also having an issue with my mac pro tower not waking from sleep correctly and restarting instead. The apple store ended up replacing the power supply and the problem has become much less frequent but has not gone away. I suspected the problems were related and later noticed the monitor reboots coinciding with kitchen appliances like the fridge turning on and off. After some testing I've established that I can reliably cause the speakers to power cycle by lighting a burner on my stove (an electric ignition system I believe uses a sparking capacitor circuit but I'm way out of my depth there.)