Electrical engineering vs. computer science

In summary, the individual is a sophomore in college and is considering majoring in either electrical engineering or computer science. They have been warned by their CS advisor that the computer engineering degree is too scattered and should focus on EE or CS. They are currently taking classes in Discrete Math and Ordinary Differential Equations, finding the former more intellectually stimulating. They are also interested in game development, but unsure if a CS degree is more respected than an EE degree. They are seeking advice on which path to choose and value any recommendations.
NuclearTide
Hi there,

I'm a sophomore in college and I'm split between electrical engineering and computer science. There's computer engineering at my school as well, but my CS advisor warned that the CoE degree is too scattered and that I should concentrate on EE or CS.

I know that ultimately it's about my personal preference, but does anybody have some advice? I'm taking Discrete Math and Ordinary Differential Equations this semester, and I find ODE to be painstakingly boring while Discrete Math is much more intellectually stimulating. I'm also taking Data Structures, and from what I've heard, this class is a really important class if I want to work as a programmer.

Having been to a Maker Faire, I know that there's a lot of cool hardware to work on as an EE. I understand that EE is a vast field, and that there's an energy focus and an information focus. I also appreciate the fact that electrical engineers have more in common with physicists and scientists, while computer science is closer to mathematics.