Elite School vs. Perfect Overseas Undergrad Research Opportunity

In summary, UC Berkeley does not have any gravitational wave astronomy research activity, so a student would only have one summer of research at LIGO at Caltech if accepted. The University of Hannover offers a one-year undergraduate program that allows students to do research at the Max Planck Institute of Gravitational Physics, which is closely associated with the University of Hannover.
Rachelle77
Hi, thank you for taking the time to read my thread.

Since the historic discovery by LIGO earlier this year and NASA's apparent intention to rejoin the LISA (Laser Interferometer Space Antenna) project being spearheaded by the ESA, I am considering studying and eventually researching gravitational wave astronomy.

I am torn between two very distinct academic paths. The first path would be to try and transfer to UC Berkeley (I am a CA resident) and take advantage of an elite university education there. The drawback to this would be the fact that there seems to be no gravitational wave astronomy research activity at Berkeley whatsoever, so I would not be able to engage in any undergraduate research on Berkeley's campus related to my interests during my two years there, with my only option being a summer research session at LIGO at Caltech if I could even get in. Since I would be transferring into Berkeley as a junior, this would mean only one summer of research related to my interest, pending acceptance to the LIGO summer research program.