Exact Sequences - Dummit and Foote Ch 10 - Proposition 29

• MHB
  • Thread starter Math Amateur
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Sequences
In summary: F(f)(d) + F(g)(d)$for any $f, g \in \text{Hom}_R(D,M)$ and any $d \in D$.Now, it is straightforward to check that this is a module homomorphism. To see this, suppose we have some $g' \in \text{Hom}_R(D,M)$ such that $F(g')(d)e F(g)(d)$. Then, by definition, $F(f+g')(d)e F(f)(d) + F(g)(d)$, so $F(f+g')
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB
I am reading Dummit and Foote, Section 10.5 : Exact Sequences - Projective, Injective and Flat Modules.

I am studying Proposition 29 (D&F, page 388)

I need some help in order to fully understand the proof of the last statement of Proposition 29.

Proposition 29 and its proof (Ch 10, D&F page 388) reads as follows:

View attachment 2494

As can be seen above, in the proof, D&F define \(\displaystyle \pi_1 \pi_2, f, \pi_1 \circ f text{ and } \pi_2 \circ f \) and then state the following:

"This defines a map from \(\displaystyle Hom_R (D, L \oplus N) \) to \(\displaystyle Hom_R ( D, L ) \oplus Hom_R ( D, N )\) which is easily seen to be a homomorphism.

Can someone please help me to see explicitly and formally how the definitions of MATH] \pi_1 \pi_2, f, \pi_1 \circ f text{ and } \pi_2 \circ f [/MATH] lead to such a map and also help me to determine an explicit expression/formala for this homomorphism?

Hope someone can help.

Peter

Physics news on Phys.org
Peter said:
I am reading Dummit and Foote, Section 10.5 : Exact Sequences - Projective, Injective and Flat Modules.

I am studying Proposition 29 (D&F, page 388)

I need some help in order to fully understand the proof of the last statement of Proposition 29.

Proposition 29 and its proof (Ch 10, D&F page 388) reads as follows:

View attachment 2494

As can be seen above, in the proof, D&F define \(\displaystyle \pi_1 \pi_2, f, \pi_1 \circ f text{ and } \pi_2 \circ f \) and then state the following: