Exploring Entropy: A Systems Engineering Perspective

In summary, exploring entropy from a systems engineering perspective involves understanding the natural tendency of systems to move towards disorder and randomness. This concept is crucial in the design and management of complex systems, as it helps engineers to identify potential sources of inefficiency and develop strategies to increase overall system performance. By utilizing tools such as information theory and statistical mechanics, systems engineers can gain valuable insights into the behavior and optimization of complex systems. By recognizing the role of entropy, engineers can better address challenges and improve the reliability and functionality of various systems.
JD Heinzmann
How did you find PF?
I was searching Google for a place to discuss the meaning of Entropy. I found https://www.physicsforums.com/insights/on-the-meaning-of-entropy/ and wanted to comment.
As a systems engineer I have thought a lot about entropy in trying to get a better intuitive sense for what it is, at a more macro level than it is usually discussed. I have some ideas and am looking for a forum to present and explore them with others. I wish to discuss more from an engineering perspective than a physics perspective, something that allows one to easily visualize what is going on in a thermodynamic process more viscerally than through the math. Not that I want to eschew the math, rather, I want to create a better context for it. My approach is to compare and contrast the thermal domain with other more familiar physical domains, electrical for example. I hope to be able to have such a discussion here. And maybe even help in making the task of teaching entropy easier.

Physics news on Phys.org
JD Heinzmann said:
How did you find PF?: I was searching Google for a place to discuss the meaning of Entropy. I found https://www.physicsforums.com/insights/on-the-meaning-of-entropy/ and wanted to comment.