Feeding reactant into side to keep concentration high

In summary, maximizing selectivity of a particular product with two competing reactions involves running at a high concentration. Feeding through the side may not be beneficial as streams 1 and 2 do not maintain their individual integrities beyond the location at which stream 2 is introduced. The concept of siphoning off reactant and feeding it alongside the reactor may be helpful, but further numerical analysis would be necessary to determine its effectiveness. Modelling can be utilized to better understand this concept.
gfd43tg
Gold Member
Hello, I am studying the maximizing of selectivity of a particular product with two competing reactions

##A \xrightarrow {k_{D}} D##, ##r_{D} = k_{D}C_{A}^{\alpha_{1}}##
##A \xrightarrow {k_{U}} U##, ##r_{U} = k_{U}C_{A}^{\alpha_{2}}##

where D is the desirable species, and U is the undesirable species. The selectivity is ##S_{DU} = \frac {k_{D}}{K_{U}}C_{A}^{a}##, where ##a = \alpha_{1} - \alpha_{2}##. In this case, ##a > 0##, so to maximize selectivity, I wish to run at a high concentration.

Now I was reading a section about feeding into the side. I am confused about their explanation for why it is not beneficial to feed through the side. It seems like injecting high concentration into the reacting mixture will keep the concentration higher throughout the PFR. How is stream 2 diluted, as it is just be separated from stream 1 and fed into the side. Just separating a stream won't dilute it.

Attachments

• sidefeed.jpg
    sidefeed.jpg
    34.6 KB · Views: 456
  • sidefeed2.jpg
    sidefeed2.jpg
    24.7 KB · Views: 457
Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org