Fermi gas at the absolute zero T

In summary, the conversation discusses the methods for computing the internal energy, pressure, and other thermodynamic properties of a Fermi gas at absolute zero temperature. One method, called "method 1," involves summing up the energy of states weighted by their average occupation number, while the other method, "method 2," involves calculating the partition function and then using it to derive the thermodynamic quantities. The speaker prefers method 2 for consistency, but most textbooks use method 1. The issue with method 2 is that it must account for the Pauli exclusion principle, which can be avoided by starting from the grand canonical ensemble and deriving a canonical ensemble solution.
JH_Park
I'm currently studying Thermodynamic properties of a Fermi gas at the absolute zero temperature.
I get how the internal energy, pressure... etc of the gas are derived. For example, in computing the internal energy, one sums up all the energy of states weighted by its average occupation number(which is derived from using grand-canonical ensemble formalism) of that states, including a degeneracy of the states.
U=∑(2S+1)ε(k)n(k)
(where S: total spin, ε(k): energy of a standing fermi wave whose wave vector is k,
n(k): average occupation number of k)
I shall call this method as "method 1". This approach intuitively makes sense to me but I found a little bit of subtle mathematical inconsistency in this calculation.
As far as I understand, when we compute an average of some observable quantity in Statistical Mechanics, we first calculate an appropriate partition function depending on which ensembles we use. Then, from the partition function, we next compute the corresponding thermodynamic potentials and by making appropriate derivatives we can get average values of thermodynamic quantities of the ensemble. (method 2)