Finding a Mentor for High School Research Project on Clothing and Behavior

In summary, a high school student is looking for advice on how to start and complete a project on behavior towards people dressed in different clothes. There is a lot of research that has been and is being done in that field, but the student is worried about being presumptuous. Suggestions for starting the project and finding a mentor are given.
EndlessTime
I'm a high school student and I recently thought of a really cool study on behavior towards people dressed in different clothes - there's a little more to it than that but I don't know if you need that for this question. Anyway since I'm in high school I've never researched or done a project like this before and I was wondering where I could get a mentor or someone to look over the project with me. Also do you think it might be a little to presumptuous to want to do this project and want to publish the results?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
There is a lot of research that has been and is being done in that field. Like all research your project needs to begin with a literature review so that you understand what's been done and what you are doing that is unique. Of course, don't let any of that discourage you. Being in high school there is value in doing an experiment even if it's been done before.

You may want to try emailing some professors at a local community college in the sociology department and tell them that you have an idea and you're looking for a mentor.

Choppy said:
There is a lot of research that has been and is being done in that field. Like all research your project needs to begin with a literature review so that you understand what's been done and what you are doing that is unique. Of course, don't let any of that discourage you. Being in high school there is value in doing an experiment even if it's been done before.