Finding the Right Amateur Movie-Making Software for My Project

In summary, the speaker recently used Windows Movie Maker for a class project but found it to be very basic and lacking in certain features such as multiple audio tracks and animation capabilities. They are seeking recommendations for an amateur movie-making software that can handle these functions and have a more user-friendly interface, with Ulead Video Studio and Vegas Video by ACID being suggested as potential options. They also mention not needing a DVD maker at the moment and highlight the benefits of Vegas Video's control over audio and video positioning and its various effects and plugins.
recon
I recently used Windows Movie Maker in editing an 8-minute long movie I made for my class project on Mount Everest. Most of you may know that Windows Movie Maker is very basic and performs only the most rudimentary functions.

I am new to the world of amateur movie making, so could anyone please recommend an amateur movie-making software? I am looking for one that is able to have multiple audio/music running at the same time, something I was not able to do in WMM and caused me to record narration with music playing from my speakers. The result was, needless to say, not great. I am also interested in animation. If there is a software that allows for both animation and normal movie editing, that would be great.

I do not have a DVD-writer at the moment, so a DVD maker is not something that I am looking for even though I know that there are LOTS of those.

Computer science news on Phys.org