First natural frequency for bending, axial and torsion modes

In summary, the homework statement states that the first natural frequency for a mass-spring system is found by solving the equation Wn=sqrt(k/m). The axial and torsional modes can be determined by calculating the k values needed.
Feodalherren

Homework Statement

We have a rod of length L fixed to a rigid support. At the end of the rod there is a mass, m. Assume that the rod has no mass. Find the first natural frequency for the bending, axial and torsion modes.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

So I'm reviewing some stuff from my undergraduate degree as I will be taking night classes for my master's in systems and controls next year. I'm doing some very basic stuff but wowzie is it difficult to remember some of this stuff that I haven't seen since I graduated.

So let's take the first part, that I think that I remember. For bending you can set up the problem as

mx'' = kx - mg

This is of a familiar form and we can see that for a simple mass-spring system the natural frequency is

Wn=sqrt(k/m)

So for a 1 DOF system we have found the 1st natural frequency. Is this correct?

I'm not sure what they mean by the axial one. Would I simply assume that the rod is acting as a spring and that the mass m is pushing down on it?

And for the torsional one would I just adjust my k to be the torsional value, but where does the supposed torque come from?

Physics news on Phys.org
Feodalherren said:
For bending you can set up the problem as
mx'' = kx - mg
Sure, but the interesting part is the formula for determining k from the dimensions of the rod and the properties of the material.
Feodalherren said:
for the torsional one would I just adjust my k to be the torsional value,