From software development to physics PhD

In summary: If I study for a Masters in Quantum Information and then a PhD in HEP, will the experience be valuable?Yes, it will be valuable.
figm
Hi there,

Last June 2019 I graduated with a First class honors in Theoretical physics from one of the Top Unis in the UK. Then I started working for a company (of good prestige) as a software engineer full time. However, a few months in, I decided to apply for Masters and start a side project with one of my previous professors. I don't have much experience in research besides this (just a small internship in a research lab in the summer after my 1st year undergrad) as I was completing other internships outside of academia. I have now been accepted to do the Master in Physics at Imperial College. For anybody with a similar experience or simply who could give me some guidance :

Ultimately, I want to apply for a PhD in theoretical physics. I know I have to build my research portfolio for this. So I have been considering doing the Masters part time and:

- During the first year of my masters: working in my current company for another year, but part time (to save money)
- During the second year: try to get into a research job I could be working in while I finish the master.

I have two questions:
1) Would studying my masters part time affect my PhD application?Would you do full time instead in my position?
2) How well considered are the coding skills?
3) How hard is it to obtain a research job as a lab assistant or something similar (may be I could use some of my software skills) prior to my Master's end?
4) I am studying for the GRE - given I get a decent score, how far off am I to get into a PhD in physics in the US in a good school?Thanks !

Physics news on Phys.org
figm said:
1) Would studying my masters part time affect my PhD application?Would you do full time instead in my position?